A night of celebration and honour at the annual Emergency Services Awards

Published on Thursday, 27 June 2024 at 1:43:41 PM

A night of celebration and honour at the annual Emergency Services Awards

The efforts of the Shire's Volunteer Bushfire Brigades and SES members over the past 12 months
were recognised at the Annual Emergency Service Awards Night 2024.

Shire President Rob Coales said the evening, held at Mardella Meadows, was about celebrating
the exceptional contributions of the Shire's Emergency Services volunteers.

“Throughout the past year, our volunteers have shown unwavering dedication to the well-being of
the SJ community. They have worked tirelessly to protect us from the constant threats of fire,
storms, flooding, and other emergencies”, President Coales said.

“Teamwork is an important ingredient in our volunteer groups, none more so than our Emergency
Service volunteers. An important part of the team is their support network, their family and loved

“The evening was also an opportunity for us to thank and recognise family, friends, and supporters
of our volunteers.”

The event honoured those who have reached significant milestones in their volunteering careers
and recognised individuals for their exemplary dedication and commitment throughout the year.

Exceptional length of service:

• Ken Elliott - 45 Years of Service with Bushfire Brigades
• Neil Kentish - 45 Years of Service with Bushfire Brigades
• Brian Manning - 45 Years of Service with Bushfire Brigades
• Martin Seward - 40 Years of Service with SES

Captain’s Awards:

Outstanding members from each of the seven bushfire brigades were recognised:

• Byford Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Aaron Little
• Jarrahdale Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Jervis Atkinson
• Keysbrook Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Kathryn Buttfield
• Mundijong Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Christopher (Spud) Jones
• Oakford Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Rhett Hislop
• Serpentine Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade - Calan Dumbrell
• Serpentine Jarrahdale Emergency Support Brigade - Ray Souza

SES Unit Manager’s Awards:

• Serpentine-Jarrahdale State Emergency Service - Matthew Hendrickson,

Chief Bushfire Control Officer’s Meritorious Service Award

• Judy Curtis
Chief Bushfire Control Officer’s Cadet Award
• Jaxon Prothero

The Shire extends its heartfelt congratulations to all award recipients and thanks all volunteers for
their invaluable service. Your dedication and bravery embody the true spirit of volunteering.

Photo: President Rob Coales with Matthew Hendrickson (middle, SES Unit Manager's Awards recipient) and Martin Seward, who was recognised for 40 years of service. 

Photo: Kenneth Elliott, Neil Kentish and Brian Manning - all recognised for 45 years of service.

Back to All News