Council Elections

2024 North Ward Extraordinary Local Government Election

An extraordinary election to fill a vacancy in the North Ward is being held on Saturday, 23 March 2024.

Information for electors

Voting in elections

To be eligible to vote in this Extraordinary Election you must be enrolled on either the State electoral roll (Residents Roll) or the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale’s Non-resident Owners and Occupiers Roll in the North Ward.

Electors who are enrolled in the Shire's North West Ward and South Ward are not able to vote.

Owners of property (rate payers) who are not enrolled on the State electoral roll are not automatically entitled to vote and must apply to the Shire through the Enrolment Eligibility Claim Form.

The boundaries of the North Ward are shown on this map.  Find out what Ward a property is located in using our online search tool.

Rolls closed on 29 January 2024.

Receiving a Postal Ballot

The 2024 North Ward Extraordinary Election will be conducted via a postal ballot.

This means that all electors in the North Ward will be sent a postal ballot.

If you are not located in the North Ward you will not receive a postal ballot.

Postal ballots will be sent by the Western Australian Electoral Commission from mid-February 2024.  If you are an elector in the North Ward and do not receive your postal ballot before election day you can obtain one through the Shire Offices at 6 Paterson St Mundijong during business hours or on election day between 8am - 6pm at the Community Recreation Centre at 8 Mead St, Byford.

Further Information 

Further information for electors is available here.

Information for Candidates


  • Nominations open Thursday, 1 February 2024 
  • Nominations close 4pm, Thursday, 8 February 2024

Nominations must be received by the WA Electoral Commission's Returning Officer.  

Returning Officer Details

Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer, Kellie FOSTER on 0461 431 941 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.

Further Information

Further information for candidates is available here.