New Serpentine Jarrahdale Council sworn in

Published on Monday, 30 October 2023 at 7:12:05 PM

Rob Coales was officially sworn in as the first directly elected Shire President for Serpentine Jarrahdale at a Swearing in Ceremony on Monday evening, 30 October 2023.

Nathan Bishop and Reece Jerrett were also sworn in as new councillors, joining existing councillors Morgan Byas, Tricia Duggin and Shaye Mack on the new look Council.

Mr George Walley, a Traditional Owner of the region who grew up in Mundijong, conducted a smoking ceremony and welcome to country as part of the Swearing in Ceremony.

A Special Council Meeting was held immediately after where Cr Duggin was elected Deputy Shire President.

President Rob Coales said it was an honour to be sworn in as the Shire’s first directly elected President.

“Today marks a new beginning for the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale Council and I look forward to leading a positive and collaborative Council focused on serving our residents and ratepayers.

“I would also like to congratulate Cr Bishop and Cr Jerrett on their election to Council.”

The Swearing in Ceremony was conducted by Mr Athol Wigg, a Justice of the Peace, who undertook his responsibility for the last time as part of his longstanding service to the Shire.

Athol served as a Councillor in the Shire from 2002-2007 and has been an integral part of eight previous Councillor Swearing In Ceremonies, officially inducting 40 Elected Members into their roles.  

“On behalf of the Shire I would like to thank Athol for his service to our community and acknowledge the important role he has played at our Swearing-In Ceremonies, President Coales said.

Back to All News