Community champions celebrated at awards ceremony

Published on Monday, 29 January 2024 at 11:14:42 AM

Local volunteers who go above and beyond in their contribution to the community were celebrated at the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale’s annual Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony on Friday, 26 January.

Awards presented on the day honoured the inspiring individuals who have given long-term service to the Serpentine Jarrahdale community. Award recipients for 2024 included:

Award Recipient
Clem Kentish Community Service Award Sandra Hawkins
Community Citizen of the Year Lorraine Bowtell
Community Citizen of the Year: Youth Liesl Bailey
Community Citizen of the Year: Senior Karin Natalotto
Active Citizenship Award (Group of Event) Mundijong Arts & Crafts Inc

Shire President Rob Coales congratulated all award winners and thanked them for their outstanding service to the community.

Photo: Sandra Hawkins, winner of the Clem Kentish Community Service Award with President Rob Caoles

Photo: Lorraine Bowtell, Community Citizen of the Year, with Cr Tricia Duggin and President Coales

Photo: Liesl Bailey, Community Citizen of the Year, Youth, with Cr Jerrett and President Coales

Photo: Karin Natalotto, Community Citizen of the Year (Senior), with Cr Mack and President Coales

Photo: Mundijong Arts & Crafts Inc. with Cr Bishop and Rob Coales

“It’s an honour to be able to shine the light on these dedicated individuals and community groups,” President Coales said.
“It takes a special type of person to work so tirelessly, often without thanks, for the betterment of their community, and it’s important we recognise and give our thanks to these people whenever possible.

“These awards are a small token of our gratitude for their unwavering support in making SJ the great place we know and love.”

Sandra Hawkins received the prestigious Clem Kentish Community Service Award for giving more than 20 years of service to SJ, notably being a driving force in the SJ Lions Log Chop and Community Fair.

Lorraine Bowtell was named the Community Citizen of the Year in recognition of her volunteer efforts, while Liesl Bailey’s outstanding contribution to the Jarrahdale Community Collective was honoured with the Community Citizen of the Year – Youth award.

Karin Natalotto was presented the Community Citizen of the Year – Senior award acknowledging her work to help support women in the SJ community, while the Mundijong Arts & Crafts group was awarded the Active Citizenship Award for supporting crisis care and families in need.

The Shire also welcomed 23 new citizens at a special citizenship ceremony on the day.
This included new citizens from nine different countries of origin, including India, New Zealand, Nigeria, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, United Kingdom, and Vietnam.

Back to All News