Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale

Local Government Reform

Breaking News: 

Minister Tony Simpson has announced its decision on metropolitan Local Government Reform.

The northern portion of the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale will be added to the City of Armadale, with Mundijong Road forming its southern boundary. The area includes Byford, Mundijong, Whitby, Cardup, Darling Downs and Oakford.

City of Armadale Map

City of Armadale Fact Sheet 

The southern portion of the Shire will be added to the Shire of Murray, with Mundijong Road will forming the northern boundary. The area includes Hopeland, Jarrahdale, Keysbrook, Mardella and Serpentine.

Shire of Murray Map

Shire of Murray Fact Sheet

The State Government have developed a Frequently Asked Questions fact sheet, which you can download here.

The Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale continues to believe that erasing our Shire from the Local Government map is of no benefit to this Council, our community or future generations. 

Legal proceedings are still ongoing, with a hearing date set for 25 November to question the legality of the Local Government Reform process and to call for polling provisions to allow resident to have their say on the future of their community.

Updates will continue throughout the process via the local media, our website and Facebook pages.