Your Council

The Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale is served by a Council consisting of a Shire President and eight Councillors, who are elected by popular vote to represent their community.

Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale logo
Councillors work together as a team to represent the interests of the Shire as a whole. Once a decision is made by Council it is the responsibility of the Chief Executive Officer to see that decision implemented.

South Ward


Image of Councillor Dave Atwell

Cr Dave Atwell

Deputy Shire President

Term Expiry: October 2023

Elected to Council in 2015, Cr Dave Atwell is a family man, married with three sons and one grandson. He has lived in Mundijong his whole life, and loves being a part of the district. His interests include various sports and fishing.

He is a life member of the Mundijong Centrals Senior and Junior Football clubs, and the Serpentine Jarrahdale Blues Cricket Club. He is very passionate about his local community, and has strong historical sporting and social ties to Serpentine Jarrahdale. He currently works his family farm, which was established by his father 70 years ago.

Cr Atwell is the Presiding Member of the CEO Employment Committee and represents Council on the Local Emergency Management Committee and the Serpentine Jarrahdale Cemeteries Working Group.

Telephone: 0417 974 131

Image of Councillor Keira McConkey

Cr Keira McConkey


Term Expiry: October 2021

Elected to Council in October 2017, Councillor McConkey is a public relations professional who has held numerous roles in corporate relations and community engagement for both the corporate and not for profit sector.

Currently, Cr McConkey is responsible for developing and driving corporate partnerships on behalf of The Salvation Army, resulting in measurable social impact, enhanced corporate reputation, and improved employee and customer engagement.

Cr McConkey represents Council on the Audit Risk & Governance Committee as Deputy Presiding Member, the Metro East Joint Development Assessment Panel, Arts Culture & Heritage Advisory, Community Grants Assessment Panel, Karnet Community Liaison Group, Keysbrook Mineral Sands Project Community Consultation Group, Mundijong Community Association and the Community Events Working Group.

Cr McConkey enjoys the rural feel and relaxed back drop that Serpentine Jarrahdale provides and is extremely proud to call this region home. Cr McConkey is a wife and mother and holds a Bachelor of Communication from Murdoch University, with majors in Public Relations and Journalism.

Telephone: 0401 445 338

Cr Michelle Rich websized

Cr Michelle Rich

Shire President

Term Expiry: October 2023

Elected to Council in October 2015, Cr Michelle Rich is the Presiding Member of the Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee and represents Council on the CEO Employment Committee, Audit, Risk and Governance Committee, Economic Development Advisory Committee, Bush Fire Advisory Committee and the Local Emergency Management Committee.

A long-term resident of the Shire, Cr Rich and her husband have raised three children in the region and spent countless hours volunteering in school, sporting and community groups.

With a background in successful small business, Cr Rich brings a solid understanding of new business and environmental issues to the Shire. She is passionate about promoting the Shire as a tourism destination whilst encouraging economically sustainable, environmentally sound developments that protect the character, lifestyle and rural history of the area.

With a vision to create a new sporting and recreation precinct that will support the growing needs of the Shire and encourage a healthy lifestyle, Cr Rich has been working closely with Government and community groups to allocate land and funds to the project.

Above all, Cr Rich is working to ensure that strategic planning underpinned by strong policy creation and implementation is a priority of council to deliver real outcomes through involving, collaborating and empowering engagement with community.

Telephone: 0438 252 109

North Ward


Image of Councillor Rob Coales

Cr Rob Coales


Term Expiry: October 2021

Elected to Council in October 2017, Cr Rob Coales lives in Byford with his wife and two teenage children, who all love the country feel of Serpentine Jarrahdale.

With nearly 20 years’ experience in law enforcement and defence, Cr Coales holds a Bachelor of Arts from Murdoch University, a Diploma of Policing through the Australian Federal Police and a Graduate Certificate of Transnational Crime Prevention from the University of Wollongong. He also served his county overseas with the Australian Army, and is a member of the Returned and Services League, the Royal United Services Institute and Australians for Constitutional Monarchy.

Cr Coales is the Presiding Member of the Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee and represents Council on the Audit, Risk and Governance Committee, Serpentine Jarrahdale Land Conservation District Committee, Metropolitan Regional Roads Sub Group, Youth Action Network, Byford Progress Association and is the Chair of the Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee.

Cr Coales aims to increase the community’s involvement in all Shire activities, and acknowledges that this will improve accountability. He has a passion for outdoor pursuits and to promote the Shire and the region for tourism, and investment.

Telephone: 0425 031 976

Image of Councillor Bill Denholm

Cr Bill Denholm


Term Expiry: October 2021

Elected to Council in October 2017, Cr Bill Denholm is a long-term resident of Serpentine Jarrahdale, having lived in Byford for nearly 50 years. A local small business owner, Cr Denholm is married and his 5 children attended Byford Primary, Byford High School and SJ Grammar.

He is an active member of SJ’s sporting community, and volunteers with local netball, football, and athletics groups. Cr Denholm represents Council on the Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee, Community Grants Assessment Panel, Youth Action Network, the Peel Trails Group, Rivers Regional Council, SJ Ratepayers Association, and SJ Trails Association.

Cr Denholm is a passionate and proud member of our community, who looks forward to a bright and promising future for Serpentine Jarrahdale.

Telephone: 0401 691 380

Lauren Strange web 2

Cr Lauren Strange


Term Expiry: October 2023


Telephone: 0437 801 637

North West Ward


Dean Strautins web

Cr Dean Strautins


Term Expiry: October 2023


Telephone: 0488 992 966

Michael Dagostino headshot

Cr Michael Dagostino


Term Expiry: October 2023

Telephone: 0412 284 616

Cr Morgan Byas websized

Cr Morgan Byas


Term Expiry: October 2021

Elected to Council in October 2017, Cr Byas is a lifelong Oakford resident and active volunteer with the local Neighbourhood Watch. Cr Byas represents Council on the Audit, Risk and Governance Committee, CEO Employment Committee, Rivers Regional Council, Community Grants Assessment Panel, Darling Range Regional Park Community Advisory Committee, Darling Downs Residents Association and is Chair of the Bushfire Advisory Committee.

Holding a Masters of Applied Psychology with a focus on organisational psychology, Cr Byas is a registered psychologist who partners with leaders and managers to help them grow exceptional teams and build effective people strategies. He has previously worked as a university lecturer and consultant, where he focused on leadership development and organisational strategy.

Cr Byas is passionate about working with the community and the Shire organisation to build an engaged Serpentine Jarrahdale that all ratepayers can be proud to pass on to the next generation.

Telephone: 0437 661 776