Equine industry in focus following Advisory Group appointment

Published on Wednesday, 30 September 2020 at 9:21:05 AM

Ten community members have been appointed to the newly established Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale Equine Advisory Group after Council endorsed the appointments at its September Ordinary Council Meeting.

The purpose of the Equine Advisory Group is to provide the Shire with advice in regards to the needs and priorities of the Serpentine Jarrahdale Equine Community and support Council in the delivery of projects to enhance the Serpentine Jarrahdale Equine Industry and Community.

The external members of Equine Advisory Group come from the predominant interest areas of horse ownership within the Shire as identified in the Serpentine Jarrahdale Equine Strategy.

This included two representatives from the racing industry, equestrian disciplines, leisure and trail riding groups, keeping of retired and companion horses group and equine businesses industry.

Eighteen expressions of interest were received from highly experienced members of the equine community with 10 members appointed to the Advisory Group.

The 10 members are Sharen Crispin, Ross Olivieri, Salli Galvin, Shane Giblett, Wendy Cumming, Dr Heather Stewart Rowe, Denelle Kennedy, Kim Lindsay, Ann-Marie Lowry and Dr Garnett Hall. They will be joined by Shire President Michelle Rich and Councillor Michael Dagostino as the representatives of Council.

Shire President Michelle Rich thanked all of the applicants and looked forward to working with the appointed members in the near future.

“The Equine Industry is very important to Council and plays a huge part in our local community with more registered horses in our Shire than any other WA Local Government area,” Cr Rich said.

“The Advisory Group will now advocate to the Shire on behalf of the local equine industry and community, representing their needs.”

The first meeting of the Equine Advisory Group will be on 21 October 2020.


The successful members of the Equine Advisory Group are:

Racing Industry representatives:

  1. Sharen Crispin
  2. Ross Olivieri

Equestrian disciplines representatives:

  1. Salli Galvin
  2. Shane Giblett

Leisure and Trail Riding group representatives :

  1. Wendy Cumming
  2. Dr Heather Stewart-Rowe

Keeping of retired and companion horses group representatives :

  1. Denelle Kennedy
  2. Kim Lindsay

Equine business representatives:

  1. Ann-Marie Lowry
  2. Dr Garnett Hall

Back to All News