Clem Kentish and Australia Day WA Awards

Every year the Shire celebrates the inspiring members of the community with the Clem Kentish and Australia Day Awards.

Michelle Aus Awards

Clem Kentish Community Service Award - Nominations Open

Nominations are now open for the Shire’s prestigious Clem Kentish Community Service Award. Since 1989 the prestigious Clem Kentish Award has been presented to some inspiring members of our community. 

Nominations close on Thursday, 31 October 2019. The nomination form can be downloaded from the Shire’s website or collected from our Administration Centre.

The winner will be announced at our Australia Day celebrations on Sunday, 26 January 2020.

Guidelines for the Award

  • Minimum length of service to the community is to have been at least twenty (20) years.
  • Nominee is to have served on several committees that have benefited the community.
  • Nominee is to be a resident of the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale.
  • Either organisations or individuals may make nominations for the award.
  • Winner is to be presented with a lapel badge and plaque at the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale’s Australia Day Awards’ Ceremony.

Nominations for the Clem Kentish Community Service Award are not able to be submitted at the Australia Day website.

Nominations will open close October 31!

Download the nomination form.

Australia Day WA Community Citizen of the Year Awards - Nominations Open

Nominations are now open for the 2020 Australia Day Awards. Each year our community celebrate the positive news stories of our citizens who are worthy of the community's attention. The Community Citizen of the Year Awards profile leading citizens who are role models and who inspire us with their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better community.

Your community champions can be recognised in 4 categories: Community Citizen of the Year, Senior Community Citizen of the Year, Young Community Citizen of the Year and Active Citizenship Award - Community Group or Event.

Nominations for the Australia Day WA Community Citizen of the Year Awards are open until 31 October 2019 and will be presented by the Shire at our Australia Day event held on Australia Day 2020.

More details on the awards and a nomination form are available on the citizenship awards website.

In 2019 more than 800 people flocked to the Serpentine Sports Ground on January 26th for the Australia Day Festival where a number of local residents were honoured for their outstanding work within the community as part of Australia Day celebrations.

Joan Gardner: Clem Kentish Community Service Award Winner

Congratulations to Joan Gardner who was presented with the award this year, spanning nearly three decades, Joan has been an executive member of the Mardella Ladies Club, a founding member of the Hugh Manning Tractor and Machinery Museum, an honorary member of the Serpentine Jarrahdale Lions Club, and an active member of the Mundijong Craft Group and Mundijong Exercise Club.

Maxine Martin: Australia Day WA Senior Citizen of the Year Winner

The talented Maxine Martin was named Australia Day WA Community Senior Citizen of the Year for her selfless work supporting families in need. Through her connection to Crisis Care, Maxine and her fellow sewing enthusiasts create hundreds of quilts each year for those less fortunate.

Neil and Stacey Bartlett: Australia Day WA Community Citizen of the Year Winner


The prestigious Australia Day WA Community Citizen of the Year Award was presented to Neil and Stacey Bartlett for their contribution towards sport in the Shire. Members of the SJ Blues Cricket Club, the Bartletts were central to the formation of the club’s inaugural women’s team in 2017.

Neil is player-coach of the club, while Stacey is integral to off-field management and administration.


Clem Kentish Community Service Award Recipients


Vera Harris


Stella Manning


Joan Avard


Pat McMillan


Ray Baker


Frederic Senior


Dawn Daw


Ron Marsh


Jan Pascall


Myra Baldwin


Roxie Shilcock


Darryl Ronan


Athol Wigg JP


Eric Muller


Lucy Denholm


Donald Daw


Nancy Scade


Ronald & Ada Fawcett


Jan Star AM


Edward (Ted) Bett


Brian Johnson (Posthumous)


Colleen & Frank Rankin


Denyse Needham


Janis Johnson


Ray Elliot


Robert Gibb


Mike Muller


Sue Mead


Joan Gardner